Def Jam Records Launches In Africa

Universal Music Group (UMG) has expanded the Def Jam brand into Africa months after the creation of Def Jam South East Asia

To be based in Johannesburg, South Africa and Lagos, Nigeria, the label aims at identifying and signing hip-hop, Afrobeats and trap talent from across the entire continent.

Def Jam Africa will be supported by dedicated A&R, marketing, creative and digital teams from the UMG teams in both Nigeria and South Africa and will report to Sipho Dlamini, MD, Universal Music Sub-Saharan Africa & South Africa.

At launch, the label’s roster includes Boity (South Africa), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Larry Gaaga (Nigeria) Nadia Nakai (South Africa), Nasty C (South Africa), Tshego (South Africa), Tellaman (South Africa), Ricky Tyler (South Africa) and Vector (Nigeria).

Earlier this year it was announced that South African rapper Nasty C  will release his forthcoming album  Zulu Man with Some Power in partnership with Def Jam Recordings in the US, during Summer, 2020.

Other forthcoming releases on Def Jam Africa include singles from Ricky Tyler, Boity, Nasty C, Tellaman feat. Alpha P, Vector, Cassper Nyovest and Tshego.

Exclusive celebrity interviews| Latest Gossips| Breaking Scoops| Subscribe to our YouTube channel via BTM Afrika