Tony Awards 2016: “The Color Purple’s” Cynthia Erivo, Others Win |Full List of Winners

Cynthia Erivo at Tony Awards 2016

Aside an amazing performance that won her a standing ovation at the 70th Annual Tony Awards, British singer-songwriter and theatre actress Cynthia Erivo was one of the most delighted individuals on the night as she won Best leading actress in a musical for her role in The Colour Purple.

The event is Broadway’s biggest night and “Hamilton” had already made history with 16 nominations.

Here is a list of the winners, marked by an asterisk, and the other nominees:

Best New Musical
Bright Star
Hamilton — WINNER
School of Rock
Shuffle Along

Best Leading Actress in a Musical
Laura BenantiShe Loves Me
Carmen Cusack, Bright Star
Cynthia ErivoThe Color Purple — WINNER
Jessie Mueller, Waitress
Phillipa Soo, Hamilton


Best Leading Actor in a Musical
Alex BrightmanSchool of Rock
Danny BursteinFiddler on the Roof
Zachary Levi, She Loves Me
Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton
Leslie Odom Jr., Hamilton — WINNER

Best Revival of a Musical
Fiddler on the Roof
She Loves Me
Spring Awakening
The Color Purple — WINNER

Best Play
Eclipsed by Danai Gurira
King Charles III by Mike Bartlett
The Father by Florian Zeller
The Humans by Stephen Karam — WINNER

Best Revival of a Play
A View From the Bridge — WINNER
Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Noises Off
The Crucible

Best Leading Actor in a Play
Gabriel Byrne, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Jeff Daniels, Blackbird
Frank Langella, The Father — WINNER
Tim Pigott-Smith, King Charles III
Mark Strong, A View From the Bridge

Best Leading Actress in a Play
Jessica Lange, Long Day’s Journey Into Night — WINNER
Laurie Metcalf, Misery
Lupita Nyong’o, Eclipsed
Sophie Okonedo, The Crucible
Michelle Williams, Blackbird

Best Featured Actor in a Play
Reed Birney for The Humans — WINNER
Bill Camp for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible
David Furr for Noises Off
Richard Goulding for King Charles III
Michael Shannon for Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Best Direction of a Musical
Michael Arden, Spring Awakening
John Doyle, The Color Purple
Scott Ellis, She Loves Me
Thomas Kail, Hamilton — WINNER
George C. Wolfe, Shuffle Along

Best Direction of a Play
Rupert Goold, King Charles III
Jonathan Kent, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Joe Mantello, The Humans
Liesl Tommy, Eclipsed
Ivo van Hove, A View From the Bridge — WINNER

Best Original Score
Steve Martin & Edie Brickell, Bright Star
Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton — WINNER
Glenn Slater & Andrew Lloyd Webber, School of Rock
Sara Bareilles, Waitress

Best Featured Actor in a Musical
Daveed Diggs, Hamilton — WINNER
Brandon Victor Dixon, Shuffle Along
Christopher Fitzgerald, Waitress
Jonathan Groff, Hamilton
Christopher Jackson, Hamilton

Best Featured Actress in a Musical
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple
Renée Elise Goldsberry, Hamilton — WINNER
Jane Krakowski, She Loves Me
Jennifer Simard, Disaster! 
Adrienne Warren, Shuffle Along

Best Featured Actress in a Play
Pascale Armand, Eclipsed
Megan Hilty, Noises Off
Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans — WINNER
Andrea Martin, Noises Off
Saycon Sengbloh, Eclipsed

Best Orchestrations
Bright Star
She Loves Me
Hamilton — WINNER
Shuffle Along

Best Choreography
Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton — WINNER
Savion Glover, Shuffle Along
Hofesh Shechter, Fiddler on the Roof
Randy Skinner, Dames at Sea
Sergio Trujillo, On Your Feet!

Best Scenic Design of a Musical
Es Devlin and Finn Ross, American Psycho
David Korins, Hamilton
Santo Loquasto, Shuffle Along
David Rockwell, She Loves Me — WINNER

Best Costume Design of a Play
Jane Greenwood, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Michael Krass, Noises Off
Clint Ramos, Eclipsed — WINNER
Tom Scutt, King Charles III

Best Costume Design of a Musical
Gregg Barnes, Tuck Everlasting
Jeff Mahshie, She Loves Me
Ann Roth, Shuffle Along
Paul Tazewell, Hamilton — WINNER

Best Book
Julian Fellowes, School of Rock
Steve Martin, Bright Star
Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton — WINNER
George C. Wolfe, Shuffle Along

Best Lighting Design of a Musical
Howell Binkley, Hamilton — WINNER
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Shuffle Along
Ben Stanton, Spring Awakening
Justin Townsend, American Psycho

Best Lighting Design of a Play
Natasha Katz for Long Day’s Journey Into Night — WINNER
Justin Townsend for The Humans
Jan Versweyveld for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible
Jan Versweyveld for Arthur Miller’s A View from the Bridge

Best Scenic Design of a Play

Beowulf Boritt for Thérèse Raquin
Christopher Oram for Hughie
Jan Versweyveld for Arthur Miller’s A View from the Bridge
David Zinn for The Humans — WINNER

Leave a comment »
Disclaimer: Comments by third parties do not in any way reflect the views of NYDJ Live. We, however, reserve the right to edit and/or delete any comment. [ Terms & Conditions ]
{"error":{"message":"(#4) Application request limit reached","type":"OAuthException","is_transient":true,"code":4,"fbtrace_id":"CW8AZmZwVdg"}}