SAMA23 – BIG Win For Kwesta | Full List of Winners at South African Music Awards 2017

The South African Music Awards is done and dusted and below, Ghana’s Hub For Pop Culture & Urban Entertainment News – shares with you the winners for this year’s event.

Notable among the winners was rapper Kwesta, who swept majority of the awards for which he was nominated for.

Check out the list of winners from below.

Day 2 of the awards continues at the Sun City Resort and be sure to stay glued to this website. Bookmark us, as we share with you a live stream and updates from the venue later tonight May 27 2017.

Congratulations to the winners so far.

Lifetime Achievement Honorees – Dr. Rebecca Malope

– Don Laka

– Babsy Mlangeni

Best Adult Contemporary Album – No Borders (Hugh Masekela)

Best African Adult Album – Ngeliny’ilanga (Soul Kulture)

Best Alternative Music Album – Kings (Native Young)

Best R&B, Soul Reggae Album – Amazulu (Amanda Black)

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album – The Dawn (Khaya Mthethwa)

Best Pop Album winner – ADAM – Vir Vertigo

Best Jazz Album – Inner Dimensions (Nduduzo Makhathini with Umgidi Trio and One Voice Vocal Ensemble)

The Best Classical Instrumental Album – Trio for Baroqueswing Vol. II (Charl du Plessis)

Best Traditional Music Album – Na Shinyori Sisters – Shimatsatsa No 34: Xiganga (Dr.Thomas Chauke)

Best African Artist Entry – Patoranking (Patoranking)

Live Audio Visual Recording Album – The Dawn (Khaya Mthethwa)

Best Collaboration Album – NGUD (Kwesta)

Best Music Video of the Year – Ameni (Miss Pru DJ)

Best Produced Album – Isina Muva (Sjava indlalifa)

Best Engineered Album – Aandblom 13 (Arno Carstens)

Remix of the Year – Wena Wedwa (Vic)

Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration20 (Joyous Celebration)

Best Selling Digital Artist – Sfiso Ncwane Productions (Ngipholise Nkosi)

Best Selling Album – My hart bly in Natal (Refentse)


SAMRO Music Highest Airplay of the year – NGUD (Kwesta ft Cassper Nyovest)

SAMPRA highest airplay of the year – Kwesta NGUD

Best Traditional Faith Music Album of the year – Spirit Of Praise Vol.6 ( Spirit Of Praise)

Best Kwaito Album – Good Will (Dr. Malinga)

Best Afropop Album – Naninina (Vusi Nova)

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album – Die Wêreld Binne My (Joshua Na Die Reën)

Statuette for Best Pop Album – The Nature Within (GoodLuck Music)

Best Rock Album – The Wake Up (Albert Frost)

Best Rap Album – Dakar II (Kwesta)

Best Dance Album – Ya Badimo (Black Motion)

Best Maskandi Album – Khuzani (Inyoni Yomthakathi)

Best Newcomer of the year – Amanda Black (Amazulu)

Best Duo or Group of the Year – Black Motion (Ya Badimo)

Female Artist of the Year – Amanda Black (Amazulu)

Male Artist of the Year – Kwesta (Dakar II The Second Coming)

Best Album of the Year – Kwesta (Dakar II The Second Coming)

Record of the Year – Hell Naw (Nasty C)

Exclusive celebrity interviews| Latest Gossips| Breaking Scoops| Subscribe to our YouTube channel via BTM Afrika