Kendrick Lamar Releases ‘To Pimp a Butterfly Album’ a Week Earlier


Kendrick Lamar‘s “To Pimp a Butterfly” is out now. The rapper surprised his fans when he made his highly-anticipated sophomore album available for purchase on iTunes on Sunday night, March 15, a week ahead of its original March 23 release date.

Serving as the follow-up to Lamar’s 2012 critically-acclaimed debut set “good kid, m.A.A.d City“, the new album features 16 tracks including the previously-revealed “i”, “The Blacker the Berry” and “King Kunta”. The former song won two awards at the Grammys last month.

“Butterfly” also includes the Compton MC’s collaborations with some big names in music industry. Along with Bilal and Anna Wise, Snoop Dogg is appearing on a song called “Institutionalized”. Ronald Isley of The Isley Brothers and James Fauntleroy both assist K. Dot on “How Much a Dollar Cost”. George Clinton, Rapsody and Thundercat are other guests on the LP.

The reason behind the album’s early arrival is still unclear. Earlier in the day, Lamar only cryptically tweeted, “Yesterday. March 14th. Was a Special Day. 20 yrs. Later. Keep calm. All is well.”

“To Pimp a ButterflyTracklist:

  1. “Wesley’s Theory” (feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
  2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
  3. “King Kunta”
  4. “Institutionalized” (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
  5. “These Walls”
  6. “U”
  7. “Alright”
  8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
  9. “Momma”
  10. “Hood Politics”
  11. “How Much a Dollar Cost” (feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
  12. “Complexion (A Zulu Love)” (feat. Rapsody)
  13. “The Blacker the Berry”
  14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
  15. “i”
  16. “Mortal Man”

Exclusive celebrity interviews| Latest Gossips| Breaking Scoops| Subscribe to our YouTube channel via BTM Afrika